The Ring

On the index finger of my right hand. I wear a ring. It perfectly fits. When I just got it, I tried it on every finger but it only fit the index finger on my right hand. At the time I did not want to wear it there – this was years ago. So I would occasionally wear it on a middle finger. I don’t remember when I gave it and started wearing it on the only finger that it fits but I remember some actress on a TV show wearing a ring on her right index finger, she was beautiful and badass and the ring placement seemed to match perfectly her leather jacket persona. I was happy. I had made the right choice to leave the ring where it fit.

The other day, I bought a few rings. I have small fingers so a lot of the rings available were too big for most of my fingers so the index finger was where most of them fit. I removed the ring. It had sat on that finger for more than 6 or 7 years. I’m sentimental. For some time I had been thinking of replacing the ring. It’s a cheap ring and while cheap and simple match my sense of style, the little cubic zirconia didn’t really shine anymore and the brand was yellowing.

I’m not sentimental and for some time I had been thinking of replacing the ring. It’s a cheap ring. The little cubic zirconia didn’t really shine anymore and the brand was yellowing. So I took off the ring threw it in my little bag and bought a replacement. I really like my new rings. They are made of simple aluminium coils – definitely me.

But when I got home, I was uneasy. I realised that I missed my little old ring. I don’t care that it’s seen better days. Throughout everything, every time I talked and moved my hands, my little ring on my right index finger was always there. Cue memory montage. Fuck it I had to put it back on. I read a silver cleaning article and followed the instructions. The process shined up the little diamond but did nothing for the yellowing band; then I put it back in its place.

Am I attached to a yellowing cheap silver ring? It would seem so. I had gotten it from my ex-bestfriend who had gotten it from her very good friend. It hadn’t meant much to its 2 previous owners and I don’t think it means that much to me either. Still, I can’t let it go just yet.

I read somewhere that putting a right on your index finger can sub consciously increase confidence, maybe that has something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

