A Coming-of-age Story: Part 1 – Sex Education

Sex was always a fascination for me. I think it began with Mills and Boons and Harlequin romance novels. Until I read my first romance novel at about 14 years old, I had no interest in the concept. I understood the mechanics of the act, but I remained innocent and quite frankly grossed out by the concept.

sex-ed

I wish I could remember the first sex scene that I read; I’m sure I was absolutely shocked by it. Luckily, my first novels weren’t graphic but more, let’s call it, poetic; all throbbing rods and quivering lady parts, thrusting passions and delightful ecstasy.

It all sounded so absolutely wonderful.

Strange enough, even as my reading material became more graphic, I never masturbated, not that I had the privacy to do so anyway; Jamaican households included no locked doors, except for the bathroom.

In my case, I simply didn’t have the desire to masturbate. I remember being quite excited by the explicit sex scenes I read, but it never occurred to me that I could do something about that excitement.

Besides, I was also a good church-going girl; went to church every Sunday and even participated in youth fellowship on Saturdays. When I eventually got my first boyfriend at about 16 years old, all we did was kiss awkwardly and hold hands. I actually went through two boyfriends doing nothing more than that.

Look out for the follow-up, “A Coming-of-age Story: Part 2 – Religion and Sex“.

5 thoughts on “A Coming-of-age Story: Part 1 – Sex Education

  1. I think that sums up most early experiences for men and women.
    Everyone thinks they know what to do but they don’t act on their desires or they worry about failure to create an exhilarating experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it also takes a good motivator to get started. We all build it up in our heads when we are young and we know it’s a big line to cross. Especially with the many warnings from the adults in our lifes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. True, also not many people are not honest enough to admit their first few attempts are cold failures with little joy.
    It takes time and you have to be with someone who is at the same place on the learning curve.
    Of course, self exploration helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear that a lot about bad first experiences but I guess I lucked out.

      I guess this is a bit of a spoiler alert since I’m in the middle of writing about it, but my first time was really good.

      I had read so much about it and I was with someone I thought I was in love with. Also, thank goodness I wasn’t with someone who was on the same learning curve – I’ll tell you all about it soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

