Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye – I Am Undone

thebluesteyeI am undone …

I finished reading Toni Morrison’s “The bluest eye” this morning and I can’t get the following out of my head;

“She seemed to fold into herself, like a pleated wing. Her pain antagonized me. I wanted to open her up, crisp her edges, ram a stick down that hunched and curving spine, force her to stand erect and spit the misery out on to the streets. But she held it in where it could lap up into her eyes.”

I still cannot formulate enough words to properly express what reading this book has meant to me. My tears were inadequate, the ache in my heart too dull – I am undone …

Leave a Reply

