Facing my greatest fear

There is something wrong with me and it’s called Borderline Personality Disorder *deep breath

I’ve had this diagnosis for over 10 years and the stigma attached to it has held me prisoner ever since. Any type of mental disorder or illness is so stereotyped and feared that only 1 person in my everyday life knows this about me. The truth is that for the most part I’m generally emotionally stable but I do have episodes of intense sadness or some other negative emotion. I am having an episode right now and even though the emotion is negative, it has given me the courage to finally write this post.

This act of writing about Borderline Personality Disorder is one of the hardest thing I have ever done. I have wanted to do it for years but fear has effectively muzzled me, so I’m gonna hit publish now before I chicken out.

4 thoughts on “Facing my greatest fear

  1. I think you’re very brave in writing about this condition. Personally, I don’t know much about it – but I definitely know about the stigma of mental illness, and the shame that is associated with it. Good for you for owning it and sharing. I’m really glad you did ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

