Valentine’s Day Falls On A Friday This Year – Kill Me Now

i_hate_valentines_dayValentine’s day that most hated of days for single people – even if we don’t admit it to ourselves. It’s the day when the world screams at us, for being pathetic and alone. Our over commercialized world won’t let us ignore it, with their gift ideas and pre-packaging everything for two. Even the most unromantic of us, feel compelled to procure the usual chocolate or flowers for a significant other; or hide away at home if we don’t have a partner. Well, maybe that last bit is just me.

I have just realized that in my 10 years of dating, I have never been out on a Valentine’s Day date. If I happened to be in a relationship at that time, for some reason I spent the night at home (usually for sex I think). But I remember the gifts, gifts are good.

Now that I have been single for the past 4 Valentine’s days, I’m beginning to get a little ticked off by this feeling that I should continue to keep my head down and allow the day to just wash over me,  like a flood of jellyfish.

This year, horrors of all horrors, it falls on a Friday. The combination of a lonely Friday night, that also happens to be Valentine’s Day may just be too much, for all the wine and ice-cream in the world to cure.

So here’s my dilemma – should I pick myself up and go hang out with a girlfriend that night? Or once again put my faith in wine, ice-cream and perhaps a large slice of cheesecake?

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Falls On A Friday This Year – Kill Me Now

  1. Neither of those options are appropriate! I am in kinda the same boat as you accept 2 of my best friends are actually an item, Friday nights I usually see them and this year is no different because I demanded that they set me up on a blind date and we go double dating together. They loved the idea, so maybe get that going or set your friend up and she sets you up? I mean its a win win situation you get a date and to get drunk with your friend at the same time!

    Like

    1. Your idea has merit – something to think about – Getting drunk is definitely in the cards for that night, so why not do it out on a date, with friends there for backup 🙂

      Like

  2. You have to love yourself before anyone else can. Took me a long time to learn that. Do what makes you happy, above all else on this day. Find a way to treat yourself and really enjoy the moment. Then celebrate knowing you’ve done something good for yourself. Cheers.

    Like

    1. Oh luckily I have learned that lesson too. Treating and loving myself is not the problem – I thought about going out alone that night but I was warned against sexual predators.

      Let’s leave at stupid Valentine’s Day is disrupting my Friday night plans and I don’t like it – lol 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

